fieldnotes on motherhood, vol. 6

 

plastic shovel in my suitcase

miniature shoes by the front door

car seat framed in my rearview mirror

letter magnets in my underwear drawer

 

little handprints on the mirrors

yesterday’s lunch still on my shirt

puzzle pieces in my work bag

toy cars constantly underfoot

 

tiny toothbrush in the bathroom

sunday’s paper now torn apart

discarded pickle in dada’s shoe

refrains from books i know by heart

 

colored chalk dust in the driveway

collection of  buckets on the stoop

floating letters in the bathtub

conversations we’ve got on loop

 

bright thread woven throughout my day,

bread crumbs leading me back to what’s true,

the signs and symbols of my child,

i’ve come to cherish

these pieces of you

 

  • a.

february 3, 2016

 

miniature shoes

 

Leave a Reply

