notes on a weekend

every now and then, the universe opens up and spills a little truth into your upturned palms. the vehicle can be anything really: a song, a touch, a perfect cup of coffee. often the most potent conduit is a conversation between two people, residents of the same lonely wavelength who stumble into one another and plug right in before they even think to ask one another’s name.

i was blessed with three such conversations this past weekend. a flash flood in the middle of a seemingly endless drought. the state of reflection that blossomed in their wake brought me back to a few favorite quotes i’ve collected over time:

“To be nobody but yourself – in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else – means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight.”
– e.e. cummings

“All day I think about it, then at night I say it.
Where did I come from, and what am I supposed
to be doing?
I have no idea.
My soul is from elsewhere, I’m sure of that,
and I intend to end up there.”
– Rumi

“The important thing is this: to be able at any moment to sacrifice what we are for what we could become.”
– Charles Du Bos

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “notes on a weekend”

  1. Nigel Says:

    Great quotes. The ee cummings is one of my favourites ever, but the Du Bos one is a complete cracker. I love it. I’ll be printing that out and putting in my study. Just love it.

  2. Nikki Says:

    i love this lex, especially the first one by ee cummings…

Leave a Reply

